Just another WordPress.com site

Where muses go.

This quote by Plato “Every heart sings a song, incomplete, until another heart whispers back. Those who wish to sing always find a song. At the touch of a lover, everyone becomes a poet.” has ended me up in a debate about muses and poetry. It was implied that I use my muse, my emotions as crutches when writing my poetry. After talking it over with several other poets the conclusion was reached about the “truth” of the poetry itself and not the process of getting there. I will never be able to write on cue because I can not to disengage myself from my emotions and this comes out in my work and to be honest I do not want to. Poetry for me is the release of all that is in my heart onto paper. In recent years it has been pain, depression and misery before it consumes me. Now I am in love will this “need” change? Let’s wait and see.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

