Just another WordPress.com site

Hunger for Dahl

Today is Roald Dahl day. I have great memories of growing up with those amazing books, The Twits, George’s Marvellous Medicine and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory being amongst my favourite. But I also love the adult books as well, Kiss Kiss being my favourite. Royal jelly and the eerie thought of a baby sized bee is both vivid and disturbing. Kiss Kiss also contains the best getting away with murder story, although the title escapes my mind at the moment, of a woman who kills her husband with a frozen leg of lamb, cooks it and then feeds it to the investigating police. Genius.

Comments on: "Hunger for Dahl" (2)

  1. Thanks for posting about this. I wholeheartedly agree that Dahl was a genius. I’ve had the great pleasure of reading almost all of his kids’ books to my daughter. An absolute, dark delight in every page. I think The BFG is my flushbunking favorite.

    • Yes, it is one of those authors that seems to transcend time as well. It would be interesting if all the trendy books now will be as important in 20, 50, 100 years time.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

