Just another WordPress.com site

What price, love?

What price, love?
I’d pay in Welsh
Dim pris yn rhy fawr.
Through sign language,
I’d pay with a poem, a play.
A letter to a Prime Minister.
I’d pay for it like a ransom.

What price, love?
I’d pay in a oath
In a political debate,
As a coinage of respect,
I’d pay with my life,
As an Olympic game,
Like a song chanted over a skipping rope.

What price, love?
I’d pay in graffiti
As a part of a Sabbaths rite,
I’d pay every day of the year,
Like a personal ad.

What price, love?
I’d pay in monthly instalments
Without the money back guarantee,
As a science experiment,
As opposites attract,
As a country western song.
I’d pay with my past, present and future,
As science fiction,
I’d be your seven of nine,
I’d pay with my sleep.

What price, love?
I’d pay a bedtime story,
And this will keep you warm tonight,
As a bumper sticker,
I’d pay because I’d want to.

What price, love?
I’d pay with a war,
Or with peace,
I’d pay with a greeting card
In a way that only Hallmark can.

What price, love?
I’d pay with my privacy in gossip columns,
As my last will and testaments,
Hoping that you will be there at the end,
As an exhibit in a freak show.
What price, love?
I’d pay by acting in a soap opera,
As an answering machine message,
As a board game.

What price, love?
I’d pay by write a “how to” book,
So other can pay to,
As a newscast,
As it is breaking news,
As instruction on the box that my heart is in.
Waiting to be collected.

What price, love?
I’d pay in a fairy tale,
So we can live happily ever after,
As a magic trick,
With the spell you put on me,
I’d pay in emotional moment:
“Kissing your lips is like walking into midnight skies,
I watch life bud within those eyes”

What price, love?
I’d pay as part of your healing,
As an epitaph,
“Here’s lies a girl who tried to buy love”
In a time capsule to be discovered in the future.

What price, love?
I’d pay with a map of my heart,
As the emotions that I feel are forbidden,
I’d pay anything to never love again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

