Just another WordPress.com site


The pentacle is a five-pointed star within a circle and it is the most iconic symbol associated with Pagans and Wiccans. Each point represents the four elements (fire, air, earth and water) and the spirit, the circle then connects them all. A five point star without a circle is called a pentagram. Another star symbol is a septagram which is a seven pointed star and is sometimes called an Elven or Fairy star. Seven is a number associated with spirits. The points do not have set meanings like a pentacle but are sometimes associated with the four elements and above, below and within. This has connections with astrology as the classical  world saw the universe containing seven planets. Another important symbol is the triple moon which is linked with the Triple Goddess (Maiden, Mother and Crone) is the form of waxing, full, waning moons. This is often worn on the head-dress of High Priestesses.

The Eye of Horus is another symbol although a slightly confusing one. It can be either the left or right eye. When it is the left eye it is associated with the moon. When it is the right eye it is in fact the Eye of Ra and is associated with the sun. Although some people believe that they are one of the same thing. The Eye is the eye lost by Horus in his fight with Seth over the death of his father, Osiris. This is worn for protection and ward off evil spirits.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: