Just another WordPress.com site

All that time travelling

I recently finished the Time Traveler’s Wife and found it an extremely emotional and heart warming book, although a little confusing at the beginning. The characters of Claire and Henry were so well written that you could not help but feel that these people were your friends. You want them to be happy and in their own way, they are. However, this is not a story without tragedy and this is what makes them human. However, it got me thinking, I have had a life-long obsession with Quantum Leap and I’ve always been interested in the concept of time travel but not the scientific side of it. This book has add a new string to this obsession (and yes that is a QL pun). Would you want to go back to your past, knowing what the future holds but not being able to anything about it like in the book? Or would you prefer to be the unassuming hero of QL and saving other people’s lives? I think the answer boils down to whether or not you are a passive viewer of life. Personally I like the idea of changing others people’s lives and the thought of seeing myself in my past knowing that moment was about to change my life forever and watching me make the same mistake over and over again would slowly drive me mad!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

